das Brot, das Bier

Friends, let it be known that I am no baker, and I am certainly not much of a drinker.  Apparently, however, when I combine these two efforts, I am sometimes able to create something delightfully edible.  (“Why not?” you query.  “Alcohol and bread are both comestibles.  Combining them should not negate that property.”  But I counter, “In my kitchen, even toast can catch fire.”)  Dear readers, this is truly a miraculous occasion; for, I had entered the kitchen a novice, and I emerged (puns, ahoy!) a well-seasoned genius.

today's was a domestic morning

today’s was a domestic morning

I first tried making beer bread a few weeks back after purchasing a six pack of Honey Brown Lager.  I don’t really care for beer, but Honey Brown was cheaper than cider, and all I had in my pocket at the time was tip money.  I’m trying this new thing called “frugality,” you know.  I drank one, and it tasted tolerable, but I’m no beer fanatic.  The other five bottles sat in my fridge for ages before the Internet gave me direction.  “Go to the kitchen,” it said.  “Go to the kitchen and bake, my child.”

And so…I baked.

3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (F) and then put these dry ingredients into a bowl and whisk it all about, then……….!!!!

cider works too, if you have it laying about!

cider works too, if you have it laying about!

2 tbsp honey or agave nectar
1 bottle beer (or cider, as it turns out)
2 tbsp butter (melted)

Add the wet ingredients and stir until mixed.  Add the batter to a greased bread pan, then pour another 2 tbsp butter on top of it.  Bake in oven for 50-60 minutes.

And that’s all!  The crust is buttery and crispy.  The meat (so to speak) of the bread is soft and moist.  I’ve heard tell it goes well with cheese, but I know for a fact it goes well with company.  Impress your besties and win their hearts through their stomachs.  The best part of all is that I, being an incurable miser, got to use my unfortunate purchase for my own gain rather than begrudgingly giving it away for free.  Everybody wins!

More on my life and job applications to come.  Stay tuned.  🙂

Leave a Reply

