Do Not Attempt

I hate yoga like I hate eggs. You may think there’s little in common between the two, but you would be wrong. Sure, one is edible and the other is guided stretching in comfy pants; but when I confess my dislike of either, I am met with the exact same skepticism.

“But it’s really, really good for you.”

“You just haven’t tried it this way.”

“Ugh, you’re wrong! This is the best way to start a morning.”

“Hate is a strong word.”

I’m not kidding. If I had a dollar for every time someone tried to convince me I didn’t really hate yoga (or eggs), I could take a week off work and fly to Bermuda and get a hot summer tan. It’s always the instructor’s fault, or the style of the class, or the  aura of the location. Hating yoga (or eggs) just isn’t a thing people understand, but trust me. There’s something about stretching and then holding it as long as I can that makes me want to run away screaming. There’s something about being quiet and breathing intentionally that (ironically) makes me want to hyperventilate. I’ve tried yoga in the woods, by the lake, in a gym, at the art museum, in classes, with mom in the basement…

I hate yoga.

But I’ve also had a stressful few weeks. On top of starting a new job, working double shifts, trying to feed myself, and remembering to get gas, I’ve also had trouble sleeping. My mind just won’t stop working. It’s like someone took the nice, neat compartments I’d made for my thoughts and bombed them to smithereens. My responsibilities used to be predictable and routine. Now there’s a mess of mental rubble–memories, stress dreams, creative ideas, and endless to-do lists.

“How can I fix this?” I wondered a few nights ago, suddenly questioning my long-held bias against yoga.

I briefly reviewed the reasons I hate yoga: it makes me fart; my butt feels vulnerable up in the air; my clothes aren’t stylish enough; it’s too quiet so everyone can hear me fart; I can’t touch my toes; conspicuous wedgies…

“Still,” I mused, alone in the gloaming, “what if I tried?”

With the entire Interworld at my fingertips, I did a quick search for the top ten easy yoga poses. As I typed, I imagined myself attempting the poses and my problems falling gracefully to the wayside. My hair came out of the rubber band in cute little wisps and my shirt draped romantically over my shoulders. My face was serene, my mind relaxed. The following is what really happened:

IMG_20160517_182507099 (2)
I skipped the nostril breathing. According to one practitioner, three slow breaths from their left nostril was enough to put them to sleep each night. No, thank you! Good for you; not for me!

Without the aid of my left nostril, I went straight into what is called the “Easy Pose.” (I should mention that I will not be using any “asana” names during this post because I definitely would not call what I did correct or authentic in any way.) I won’t lie. I only held this long enough to take a picture.

Verdict: comfy.

IMG_20160517_182734404

I moved on to something familiar. I’ve been doing Child’s Pose since I was a kid and mom dragged me to her yoga class. Sure, I can curl up in a ball. I can even pretend I can feel this stretching my thighs and ankles and back. But there is a limit to how long I can stare directly at the ground before I start to feel strange. One practitioner online commented that this was the cutest pose ever because they felt like a little biscuit.

Proposal: Rename this the Little Biscuit Pose.

IMG_20160517_183017675

Now here’s a yoga pose I can get behind. The Corpse Pose is not only simple, it is also how I spent 90% of my day off on Sunday. Psshhh, yoga is easy.

IMG_20160517_182924437
Things got a little dicey when I moved onto the Cobra Pose. This was another familiar pose, introduced to me in dance class after ab work outs, but that didn’t make it feel any less awkward as I tried to remember where to put my hands. Turns out, there’s a Cobra Pose for Dummies website. Maybe I should have consulted that first.

IMG_20160517_183039558

IMG_20160517_183810826

Life didn’t get much easier for me as I tried out The Bridge and The Happy Baby poses. No need for commentary. I think my face says it all.

IMG_20160517_185410589

I redeemed myself ever-so-slightly with the Camel Pose, though (trust me), it was not without some audible groaning. It took me way longer than necessary to find my heels, too. The generic, stock-photo women doing this pose on the website looked so serene as they bent over backwards. Me? I was never more aware of how much I hate yoga as when I was doing this pose.

IMG_20160517_183310520IMG_20160517_183905933

Undeterred, I pushed on, following with a gravely impassioned Warrior and an absurdly giddy Tree. To be fair, I was confusing the Tree with the Baby. Or, maybe I was confusing yoga with Bob Ross. Looking back, it doesn’t make sense that a tree would be happy. But then again, yoga doesn’t make sense to me. Whatever. Hindsight is 20/20.

IMG_20160517_183337284

Things got weird when I tried to make a triangle with my body with my butt to the camera. I don’t know exactly what I was thinking, but it had something to do with wanting to imitate the woman on the website, and her butt was to the camera, too. This pose was a pretty decent stretch, but it definitely did a better job showcasing my burgeoning wedgie. We can’t all be perfect…

It was at this moment that I decided to attempt my Everest. Some people struggle with handstands, others with finding the perfect scenic location to record themselves being fabulous. I can’t touch my toes. (Yes, even after all those dance lessons mom paid for.) I took a deep breath and began to fold myself in half, imagining that I was doing it vertebrae by vertebrae, just like a yoga instructor would advise.

And then I hit a wall, but don’t take my word for it. In good faith, I documented everything.

IMG_20160517_184018329

Nope. No matter frequently I exhaled–no matter how desperately my arms flailed looking for something more toe-like to grab–I flat out failed. Toe touches just aren’t in my wheelhouse. Sorry, mom.

After that disappointment, I couldn’t go on. My tolerance for uncomfortably pushing my board-stiff muscles to new heights was waning, and I was feeling more and more ridiculous by the minute. Don’t get me wrong, though! Some of my friends feel and look powerful when they do yoga. Some of my friends find a peaceful quietude that helps them organize their lives and conquer their demons. I don’t doubt the benefits of comfy pants, mindful breathing, and body contortions for other people. That doesn’t change the fact that I hate it.

I may be worse than a novice…I may have only looked at pictures to do these poses…I may have been too caught up in what exactly constitutes half a fish lord…I may have thrown in the towel without really trying…But I do have to hand it to yoga: it was so awkward, I stopped worrying about work.

Disclaimer: DO NOT GOOGLE YOGA AND ATTEMPT YOGA. YOGA REQUIRES PRACTICE AND BASIC INSTRUCTION. I AM A MORON.

 

6 thoughts on “Do Not Attempt

  1. I stumbled across your post looking through the yoga tags and lemme tell you. I thought everything you were thinking at one point. I actually have a new post from last night describing how I’ve gotten into yoga. It’s definitely not an easy thing to do. And also, don’t get discouraged about the toe-touch thing. It’ll take a while but it’s good you didn’t push yourself. I’m no yoga expert, I’m just beginning to love it. If you go read my post you’ll learn a little more about how I feel about it. If not, I recommend watching Yoga With Adriene on YouTube. I could go on and on about her, but I won’t ;b Keep doing you though! Whether you stick with it or not at least you gave it a try!

    • Hi Taylor! I love this comment–thanks for reading! I definitely get where you’re coming from. Yoga doesn’t have a fighting chance when I give up so quickly. I think as I get older I’ll grow more open to incremental progress and quietude, but I’m not quite ready to love it yet. It was definitely more beneficial to me now than when I was a kid or even in college. Maybe one day I’ll change my mind! 🙂

  2. There is a reason many of the things that you have tried are not working for you. As you know, I have been studying Ayurvedic Medicine, I have learned so many incredible things!. We will talk later, but breathing thru the right nostril vs the left nostril vs. alternating nostrils can be beneficial or harmful depending on the person and what is going on within them. Same thing with different types of yoga practices. The last time we talked I knew your thoughts were out of control and I wanted to say something, but I didn’t think you were open to a new perspective at that time. (example: you have been so resistant about using the tongue scraper that I gave you for Christmas. OK I know that seems weird, but it’s a baby step). I know you pretty well and can give you some suggestions to try to regain your balance, and maybe eliminate the gas (farts) if you are open to that. Yoga is so much more than just the poses. We will talk soon. Love you. MOM

    • Mom, I don’t like yoga and I’m fine with that. This post was just for fun because I have a lot of friends on social media who post these amazing videos and pictures of themselves doing yoga and looking graceful, so I wanted to put my own spin on it. I legit took it seriously off camera but it’s just not for me. Also, I don’t actually fart uncontrollably when I do yoga, that was a joke (and also a fear).

  3. Your description of trying to touch your tose is a process I know well. I’ve decided to embrace my inflexibility and think of myself as a T-Rex when I try to touch my toes. Haha Great post!

Leave a Reply

